Pages

Friday, October 21, 2005

Good Luck Mr. Stewart

So tomorrow is the big day, my first day to get into a recording studio! I'm trying to find a video camera I can take in and film us recording,but no one seems to have one.Oh well, it will still be totaly awesome. We practiced last night and ran through all the songs we wanted to record. I have to admit some of these songs are starting to sound really good now that we have put some real time into them. We are probably going to lay down Hard To Be, Amanda, and hopefully Stublin because I really like that song. Tomorrow we have from 1-7pm to do everything we can before we have to leave.

I went out The Garage last night and holy crap that place is different on Thursdays! We got let in for free though since the guys know us from playing there so often. They were having some kind of beauty contest with the girls there so all of the girls were dressed "nicely." We watched them all trying to strut their stuff and such before I left to go home.

Sunday, October 16, 2005

To many Laura's!!

Well its been a few days so I figure its time for an update. The interview with Laura isn't going to happen because it turns out her paper has to be on mental disabilities. I messaged her on facebook offering her help on finding resources since between me and my mom we know just about every major doctor in TX. That was a few days ago and she never responded back so I guess she either doesn't need my help or doesn't want it, either way, no skin off my nose.

Surprisingly enough I met another girl named Laura the Friday night at Lucky Lou's waiting for Liesl to show up for her bday. Well ok I didn't actually meet her that night, I met her in Kharma some time before but I don't remember that. We hung out for a while at the bar then went to Jimmy John's to try to eat off our would-be hang overs. After that, since I had put a few drinks in me already I actually had the balls to ask her back to my place to hang out for a while. I know I know, very unlike me, but damn it I had to do something besides let her walk home in the cold. So we hung out in my room for what seemed like 30-45min I guess until she finally got tired and said she needed to go. She told me to call her when I have another show but I figure I'll call her sooner to hang out sometime, get some coffee or something.

My roommates are all planning on leaving the house here when the lease is up on Dec 1 so now I have to look for more roommates. I thought Travis would want to come live here but he thinks this house is to crappy for him. So whatever, let him pay his $450 a month for his small apt that he has to drive or take the bus to get to school for. I'm staying right here thank you very much. This house will be even better with out the junkiness and laziness of these people here. If I can get roommates who will take care of this place with me this house can be awesome again.

TTFN

Friday, October 14, 2005

A Small Splurge

So far no word from Laura (the interview girl. Turns out her paper has to be on mental disabilities only so that kinda rules me out as an option. I did however send her a message on facebook telling her I'd help her grab sources if she would like since I know people she could talk to and my mom works at a place that owns hospitals.

In the past 24 hours I have spent a good sum of money. First off, instead of shipping in my iBook to fix the internal mic which is pretty pointless anyway, I just bought a better external USB mic off of Newegg.com last night. With shipping, the cost came to about $24. Then today me and Son went around trying to find either a better one or a cheaper one, but when we didn't I began to look around for more toys :) I thought to my self that a battery back up would be nice to have since I have about 10 things sitting on my desk now. Well as I was walking around with that I was walking around the printer aisle and thought you know I'm tired of having to either borrow Josh's printer or walk over to the GAB to print something so why don't I get a printer instead? So I did :) I got an HP Deskjet 5440. Its kinda on the old side but it wasn't used and was only $80. Well after that I realized that with this USB printer, I don't have anymore USB ports to use it with because they are all full so I had to buy a 4 port USB hub. I also bought some blank CD-Rs since I had finally run out after about a year of the same 50 stack, if not longer. So the total for todays expenses was about $120. My printer is so awesome though and wow it was so easy to install on my iBook. Horray Macs!

Wednesday, October 12, 2005

I'll Take Option #3 Bob

So last night at the show, I met a girl named Laura who was one of the friends Travis brought. She seemed cool from the few minutes I got to talk to her in between sets and hanging with Jeremy. So tonight Travis IMs me and is like hey she was just at my place and she wanted your number. I was like reeeealllyyyy.....Then he says ok dont be offended. WTF?? Im thinking, great this can't be good news. Then he told me why she wanted my number, which she got by the way. She needs to do a paper for on a person who has a disability!! WTF! ***Breathe*** Its for some special ed class she's taking and they have to interview someone and do a paper about it. So lets look at what I could say...

1) No
2) Hell No
3) I need to get to know you better first before I share some of my most personal life experiences with you since in order to do this right, thats what will happen.
4) Yes no problem

Now, if I hadn't met her last night, I would very much give her number 1. But according to Travis she is a really cool girl and she wouldn't try to like exploit me and "seemed very excited" to talk to me. Now is she excited because she has a way to do her paper now or does she want to get to know me? Now to figure all this out I turned to the wisest person I know of....Nicholas (my middle brother). He said he liked the idea of at least getting to know her a little better before agreeing to do this which I like because I dont want to be a dick about it, I mean I do want to help her simply because Travis is a good friend of mine and she is a friend of his. So if she calls me tomorrow, which is more than likely, I will ask her to come to lunch or dinner with me tomorrow so that I can get to know her a little. You know, see what kind of person she is, see if I am confertable with how she's going to use my personal life for this paper. Also, I want information on what this class is about and what this paper is specificaly looking for.

I friended her on facebook last night after the show and she sent me a message tonight making a joke about my creepy picture I have on there. It made me laugh which is plus one in her favor. So, we'll see how all this pans out when she calls me. I'll post again and keep you up to date when it happens.

Tuesday, October 11, 2005

Book'em Baby!!

Well tonight was an interesting night. We again played another gig at The Garage's open mic night. Jeremy came up this time because he had the week off for a new holiday called "Fall Break" that the high schools are having now. I also got Desiree to come in so that's 2 people this week I got to come. So now lets count the people that didn't come...Hiba, Heidi, Lili again, Sarah, Eric, Amanda, and Adree. Well turns out Vick made up for all of them anyway by bringing in about 20 people just by him self. He had a ton of people from his home town come up just for this one show. Final count was 30 but you only get counted if you say, "Im here for Vick Aben." And to make things even better, the only people who played tonight were us and our friend Tanner. So that means that two bands got to split almost 4 hours of time. So me, vick and travis went on at about 11:15 and played a few songs, then brought Dustin and Oscar on with us and played for another 30min. Then Tanner played a 45min set followed by at least another 30min by me, Vick, and Travis. The best part was that all the songs we played for the last 30min set we had never even played before! We just pulled them out of our asses and they sounded good!! Of course, everyone in the place was lit up by then so they wouldn't have cared if they were bad or not, but I cared and we played decently for never have played any of them before.

After all was said and done, the guy counted out our money and paid us....finally! Divided up me, Vick, and Travis got $15 a piece while Dustin (who had only been with us for 24 hours) and Oscar (who was only suppose to play on like 3 songs but for some reason played on ALL of them!!! BOOO) only get $5. But hey, we three played 3 times the amount of music they did. I know $5 is crappy, but damn there wasn't much to start with. Also on good news, WE ARE GETTING BOOKED! WOOT WOOT! Thats right, since we did such a good job tonight we are getting a real time slot on the weekend next month. YAY! It's going to be so cool to play a real show on a real night with a ton of people in there!

So yes, tonight was an interesting night

Saturday, October 08, 2005

Horray! Booo!!

Lets see, well last night was kinda cool, but today hasn't been to exciting yet. Last night I went to Jack in the Box to grab some food before I went to bruce. As I was walking up to the door, Pat was coming in too so that was nice to have someone to eat with. After we walked back to Bruce, I watched the last 30min or so of Battlestar Galactica. To bad it was a repeat. I got kinda bored and almost went home but Ellen came down and asked if I wanted to go to Jack in the Box with her and her friend Jessica so of course I said yes. So I went back and got frys and a drink. Then went and FINALLY saw the first half of the movie Chicago. The first half is a lot more....rescay....than the second half. After that, I called Lili since I hadn't seen her in about a week or longer and got her to come to kharma and have some coffee. It was good talking to her in person this time instead of online. We hung around for a few hours and then eventually made our ways home. When I got back to my house I remembered Heidi was working 12-4 at Crumely so I decided to get online and see how she was doing. I ended up talking to her for a few hours and just keeping her company. She seems pretty cool. She said she may come out to the show Monday night and bring a friend too so there's at least $4 for us to split :) Not to mention it will just be nice to have her come out.

Today worked sucked. We only rented one movie because we brought one from home. We rented the Manchurian Canidate but we were so busy that by 3 we hadn't finished it yet so we went to lunch. When we came back, the front desk worker had come in to do work today and this lady is the higher ups watch dog, so we couldn't even have my laptop out while she was there. By the time she finally left it was 5:10. So we popped the movie back in and finished it not to long after 6. So ya, it took us almost 6 hours to finish a 2 and a half hour movie!! What a bitch of a day, but at least last night was cool.

Thursday, October 06, 2005

Journal Reborn

Hey everyone and welcome to the home of my new journal, or you can call it by the new name everyone is using lately...Blog (short for the phrase web log) So welcome to my blog. As you can see I have transfered all my old journal entries over here from Zobarstyl.com so can still new all those if you want to. One of the main reasons for the switch was because editing on my mac had become...well....not fun. I mean if I want to update the home page or pictures thats one thing, but the diary was just becoming a hasle especialy trying to make the side calanders!

So lets see whats been going on lately. I guess I should tell you about whats going on with Eric. A few weeks ago, while I was hanging out with Megan in Kharma, a guy came and sat with us. Said his name was Eric. The whole night all we three did was talk about old relationships and the trials and hard times we had been through....so a pitty party. Most of what I said had to deal with Angelica of course but because Megan knows her, I never mentioned her name directly. A few days go by and I'm sitting in Kharma again when all the sudden Angelica comes in as Eric just happns to be walking out. To my surprise, they stop, happily say hello to each other, HUG, say a few words then Eric left. Imagine the look on my face when a guy I have just pretty much told the majority of the bad things about Angelica to, turns out to ACTUALY KNOW HER!

Well, two days ago, I decide to figure out whats really going on here. I see him in Kharma sitting wth this girl so I go ask if I can sit to which he agrees. Sure enough, after about a minute he asks, hey didn't you go out with Angelica? I said yes. He said, "do you remember hearing about me? I'm Kim's ex boy friend, the one who moved away to Virgina." Kim is Angelica's best friend and now college roommate. And yes, I remember hearing about him. We sit there and talk about what happened in both of our relationships and how they both pretty much went to shit. Turns out he thinks they are both as crazy as I do!! WOO HOO! He says he still talks to Angelica sometime, but hasn't spoken to Kim in a long time. He actually asked me to go with him to surprise visit the both of them at Kerr. I was like, FUCK NO! Well, like the song says, it's a small world after all.

The girl he was sitting with that night, Amanda, was soon joined by her best friend, Adrey. We all hung out that night until about 2am and the girls invited me and him to go bowling tonight, so that's where I'm off to now. I'm sure you'll get a post soon on how it turned out.